You only have one Life : Protect It : Stay Safe


St Colmcille Royal Life Saving Club

Lifeguards lifting a Casualty out of the Water.

National Pool lifeguard course


The RLSS UK National Pool Lifeguard Qualification (NPLQ)

(9th Edition) is the most awarded lifeguard qualification in the

 United Kingdom and Ireland.

It complies with the industry guidance contained within the

HSE publication 'Managing Health and Safety in Swimming


Generally, the NPLQ is a recruitment requirement for a number

of jobs from Pool Lifeguard to Centre Manager.

On successful completion of the course you will be fully

qualified to work as a Pool Lifeguard.

The NPLQ course duration is 40 hours and is split

over 3 units;

Unit 1 : The Principles of Lifesaving and Swimming Pool

Supervision, and

Unit 2 : The Application of Supervision and Rescue in a

Swimming Pool.

Unit 3 : First Aid : Cardio-Pulmonary Resuscitation (Adult, Child, Infant), AED (Defibrillator), Treatment of Bleeding, Fractures, Shock etc.)

The NPLQ is awarded upon successful completion

of the above units.

The qualification is internationally recognised and is

incorporated on the Qualifications Framework at Level 2.